2019-2020 Gender Spectacular Family Drop-In Team!

We are excited to introduce everyone to our fabulous new facilitation team. We all look forward to meeting you at a family drop-in soon!


Hi, I’m Connie! I’m of Celtic, Baltic and Greek ancestry, third generation Vancouver Island, born and raised in the Victoria area and now doing my masters in social work at UVic. I’ve been working in education for 18 years in alternative and independent schools and in homeschooling support, mostly with primary ages for the last few years though I’ve now quit all that work to be back in school. My background in all of that is around outdoor and experiential education. I have 2 kids and an ex-step-kid, now aged 15, 16 and 18.  And I work a little as a hedge witch on the side running ceremonies, doing energy and sound healings and selling potions. I’m a trans woman and have an awesome Lego collection left over from when my kids were young. I also love all sorts of crafts and can bring things like beading projects, needle felting, gnomie making and fun things like that to the group if the kids are interested.  


Hi! My name is Kade, I am of settler ancestry, mostly recent immigrants from Ireland and Eastern Europe. I identify as non binary and prefer they/them/theirs pronouns! I just wrapped up over two years working as a gardener with my best friend and am just about to embark on a new career path as a mental health support worker! I have secret ambitions to one day become a drag queen and am doing my best to study up by going to local shows and watching as much rupauls drag race as feels good. I like to paint, draw and read when the weather turns grey, but love to be outside as much as possible in the summer. I love swimming in the ocean or in lakes, camping, hiking and biking. I like growing my own food and cooking it too! I also might live with the sweetest cat in the world called prince!


I am transmasculine of 100% settler descent (and starting to deconstruct the colonizer aspects of my heritage) and I’ve lived in this area for most of the last 12 years. I have an eclectic education background in engineering, business admin (marketing and finance), and social sciences. I’m currently in my (so called) third year of Health and Community Services with plans of going into a Master’s Occupational Therapy after graduation. I have been working with kids in a variety of capacities for the last eight years including several years as a Nanny, working with several kids on 1-on-1 skills development, and recently as an OT Assistant. I was one of the co-facilitators of Gender Spectacular and I look forward to doing it again this year! In my free time, I like to craft, climb, cycle, and explore. I am also raising my 17 year old cat and helping to raise and train my and my husband’s 6 month old puppy who is being trained to be a therapy dog. I can bring fibre crafts (weaving, spinning, sewing), beading, and sensory crafts to the drop-ins.


I’m Alyx! I’m non-binary trans-masculine, use they/them/their, and am of Scottish, British, Irish settler ancestry and multigenerational ties to Coast Salish territories. I helped get Gender Spectacular and a support group for parents of trans children/youth going about 4 years ago. I’m currently an MSW student at UVic and doing research about trans youth experiences of ‘care’. I love being outside – camping, hiking, kayaking when I can. My life these days is mostly focused on co-parenting a totally rad 2 year old with my partner.


I’m Bea, my pronouns are she/her/hers. I’ve been a visitor to Lekwungen territory for six year, and grew up in Tiohtiá:ke/Montreal. I’m of Irish, Scottish and French ancestry. I have been working in the early years field for close to 10 years. In my current role at Saanich Neighbourhood Place, I have the privilege of collaborating with community and partner agencies to improve kindergarten transition, provide caregiver education on attachment, children’s mental health, etc. I’m currently taking the Early Learning and Care program at Camosun part-time. 


A Workshop for Parents/Caregivers

Join us for an evening of learning, social connection, and space to explore your questions about how best to support the gender creative children and youth in your life.

This workshop will be facilitated by the fabulous Lux who works closely with trans youth and their families through the Youth Clinic. Topics may shift depending on interests of the group, but will likely include: pronoun basics, gender affirming approaches to supporting young people, introductions to gender/sex/sexuality, resources (local, provincial, online). There will be time for questions.

When: Monday, October 7.
– Dinner and drop-off for childminding 5:30-6:00pm.
– Workshop 6:00-7:30pm.

Where: Saanich Neighbourhood Place, 3100 Tillicum Rd, Victoria, BC

Cost: Free. Bus tickets and childminding available onsite.


  • We encourage people to arrive to this event scent-free, but can’t confirm a scent free space.
  • There are no stairs to enter the building.
  • There are single stall gender neutral washrooms.
  • While we have chairs, we welcome you to bring a cushion or anything that will help you to feel comfortable during the workshop. Participants are welcomed to stand/stretch/move as necessary.
  • Dinner of soup (vegan, gluten free) and bread will be available.
  • Childminding will be provided by experienced childminders in a play space catered towards young children. Babes in arms welcomed at the workshop. If you have any questions about childminding, or wish to let us know that you will be bringing children (not required, but welcomed) please contact us: